I remember watching a movie titled “The Kid” in the year 2000. At that time, when I was watching this movie, I didn’t had a clear idea of what the movie is about. But today, as I look back in the past, I realized from the movie that the expectations I had when I was young is really different from the reality that i am living right now.

When I was young I always wished that I would grow up quickly, thinking that once I have matured, things that I couldn’t do because i am too “young” will be able to come to fulfillment. I wanted to become a more matured and independent adult, get a job that I like, own a house and a car, have the capability to take care of my parents and get to know my soulmate etc…. But looking at myself now, as a grown up adult none of those wishes that i made when i was young actually came true.

In the movie, The protagonist, adult Russ starred by Bruce Willis is a image consultant earning a good income and holding a high position in the company. Many people would agree that he is a successful man. However his younger self, which appeared later in the movie, thinks that Bruce Willis, the adult Russ is a failure and that is because he did fulfilled the dreams that young Russ wanted.

Is it normal for dreams to change as we grow up and gain new knowledge? Or are we raising the level of our dreams as we advance in years? Or are we forced to bury our dreams due to various difficult situations.

The movie ended with, Little Russ and adult Russ working hard to solve the problems and fulfilled their dreams together of becoming a pilot. The movie made me realize that even though we may have some regrets or we had made some mistakes in the past. Every mistake is an experience that makes us thrive even harder. What’s more important then failure is that the decision we make and the things we had already achieve now is the key to how our future will turn out.

Even if we are faced with difficulties in reality, there are still many things that we have achieved until now, let’s be positive while looking at those achievements! Just like how a company that was faced with financial crisis resolved their problems with the money that the company had saved after each earning. We too have to store those positive thoughts and memories and overcome the crisis of everyday life.

As long as we don’t lose what we accumulated in the past and do it while thinking about what we will achieve after taking action, holding on to that rope of hope, we will be able to recover from failures.

In Providence, i was taught by Pastor Jung Myung seok that People shouldn’t do things thinking and asserting only about one side of any situation, we have to absolutely check to see if other problems will occur as a result of our decisions, always do all things after checking 100%! Only then will the wrong perceptions and the problems disappear.  

Quote from Pastor Joshua Jung Myung Seok

In whatever that we may be doing, there isn’t just one side but both sides to it. That is why we have to always check these two sides: front and back, dark and light, righteousness and unrighteousness, before doing it.

Original Source: http://providencebride.blogspot.tw/2014/10/the-kid.html